Child pages
  • Course descriptions
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Solid earth geophysics course descriptions

Course descriptions are being added as they are prepared by the teachers. If the teacher has not been mentioned, the course does not have a dedicated teacher yet.

Courses marked with A are the core courses of the module. Courses marked with B are specialization courses, also recommended for doctoral students, and may require courses listed in category A as prerequisites. This division of the courses follows convention used at the Department of Physics, and division of courses into modules follows convention used at the Department of Geosciences and Geography.

You can download our course program for 2014-2016 from here.

To enroll for the courses, use the Weboodi system: https://weboodi.helsinki.fi/hy/

Compulsory advanced studies

535045 Field course of solid earth geophysics, 5 crTeachers: Lecturer Emilia Koivisto (emilia.koivisto [at] helsinki.fi) and Professor Ilmo Kukkonen (ilmo.kukkonen [at] helsinki.fi)
Moodle page of the course: https://moodle.helsinki.fi/course/view.php?id=16982

53212 Applied geophysics: theory and applications, 5 cr Teacher: Lecturer Emilia Koivisto (emilia.koivisto [at] helsinki.fi)
Moodle page of the course: https://moodle.helsinki.fi/course/view.php?id=13112

53211 Lithospheric structure and dynamics, 5 cr
Teachers: Professor Ilmo Kukkonen (ilmo.kukkonen [at] helsinki.fi) and Assistant Professor David Whipp (david.whipp [at] helsinki.fi)

Optional advanced studies

Methods module

A. Core courses

53214 Physical properties of rocks: theory and measurements, 5 cr Teacher: Postdoctoral Researcher Johanna Salminen (johanna.m.salminen [at] helsinki.fi)

535006 Time series analysis in geosciences, 5 cr
Teacher: Research Professor, Docent Kimmo Kahma (kimmo.kahma [at] fmi.fi), Finnish Meteorological Institute

Course 530006 Basics of Monte-Carlo simulations is arranged by the specialization in computational physics. Information on the course can be found here.

B. Specialization  courses

53215 Inversion of geophysical data, 5 cr

The following courses are arranged by the specialization in computational physics: 53369 Scientific computing III, 53382 Tools for high performance computing and 530088 Statistical methods. Information on these courses can be found here.

Applied geophysics module

A. Core courses

53213 Borehole geophysics, 3 cr
Teachers: Senior Scientist Suvi Heinonen (suvi.heinonen [at] gtk.fi), Geological Survey of Finland and Professor Ilmo Kukkonen (ilmo.kukkonen [at] helsinki.fi)

B. Specialization courses

54062 Seismology II: seismic structural studies, 5 cr Teacher: Lecturer Emilia Koivisto (emilia.koivisto [at] helsinki.fi)
Moodle page of the course: https://moodle.helsinki.fi/course/view.php?id=7605

54071 Ground penetrating radar: theory and applications, 3 cr Teacher: Lecturer Emilia Koivisto (emilia.koivisto [at] helsinki.fi)
Moodle page of the course: https://moodle.helsinki.fi/course/view.php?id=13113

54072 Geohydrology, 5 cr

535047 Environmental magnetism, 5 cr
Teacher: Dr. Edouard Petrovsky (edp [at] ig.cas.cz), Inst. Geophys ASCR, Prague, Czech Republic

54073 Current topics of applied geophysics research, 3 cr Teacher: Lecturer Emilia Koivisto (emilia.koivisto [at] helsinki.fi)
Moodle page of the course: https://moodle.helsinki.fi/course/view.php?id=13114 

54075 Advanced topics in applied geophysics, 2-6 cr
Several different courses are offered with this course code. The courses have alternating topics and are arranged every other year or more rarely. Students can include several courses with this code to their degree, as long as the topics of the courses are different. Below you`ll find a list of courses that have been, or will be, offered with this course code.

54075 Advanced topics in applied geophysics: Geophysical mineral exploration in hard rock environments, 2-6 cr
Teacher: Senior Scientist Suvi Heinonen (suvi.heinonen [at] gtk.fi), Geological Survey of Finland

Solid earth geophysics module

A. Core courses

54026 Tectonics, 5 cr Teacher: Research Director, Docent Annakaisa Korja (annakaisa.korja [at] helsinki.fi), Institute of Seismology

53565 Geothermics, 5 cr
Teacher: Professor Ilmo Kukkonen (ilmo.kukkonen [at] helsinki.fi)

54371 Geodynamics, 5 cr
Teacher: Assistant Professor David Whipp (david.whipp [at] helsinki.fi)
Moodle page of the course: https://moodle.helsinki.fi/course/view.php?id=9628

54061 Seismology I, 5 cr
Teacher: Director Pekka Heikkinen (pekka.j.heikkinen [at] helsinki.fi), Institute of Seismology

53511 Geodesy I, 5 cr
Teacher: Professor, Docent Markku Poutanen (markku.poutanen [at] fgi.fi), Finnish Geodetic Institute
Course page: https://matskut.helsinki.fi/handle/123456789/535

53514 Satellite positioning, 5 cr
Teacher: Professor, Docent Markku Poutanen (markku.poutanen [at] fgi.fi), Finnish Geodetic Institute
Course page: https://matskut.helsinki.fi/handle/123456789/370

53521 Geomagnetism, 5 cr
Teacher: Researcher Liisa Juusola (liisa.juusola [at] fmi.fi), Finnish Meteorological Institute

B. Specialization courses

54060 Earthquake seismology, 5 cr
Teacher: Seismologist, Docent Päivi Mäntyniemi (paivi.mantyniemi [at] helsinki.fi), Institute of Seismology

535110 Space geodesy, 5 cr
Teacher: Professor, Docent Markku Poutanen (markku.poutanen [at] fgi.fi), Finnish Geodetic Institute
Course page: https://matskut.helsinki.fi/handle/123456789/110

53516 Physical geodesy, 5 cr
Teacher: Professor, Docent Martin Vermeer (martin.vermeer [at] aalto.fi), Aalto University

535017 Paleomagnetism, 5 cr
Teacher: Geophysicist, Docent Satu Mertanen (satu.mertanen [at] gtk.fi), Geological Survey of Finland

535021 Planetary geophysics, 5 cr
Teacher: Postdoctoral Researcher Tomas Kohout (tomas.kohout [at] helsinki.fi)

535031 Advanced topics in global solid earth geophysics, 2-6 cr
Several different courses are offered with this course code. The courses have alternating topics and are arranged every other year or more rarely. Students can include several courses with this code to their degree, as long as the topics of the courses are different. Below you`ll find a list of courses that have been, or will be, offered with this course code.

535031 Advanced topics in global solid earth geophysics: Evolution of the Earth – From Supercontinents to Impact Cratering, 5 cr (the course description is for the course held in the spring 2014)
Teacher: Emeritus Professor Lauri Pesonen (lauri.pesonen [at] helsinki.fi)

  • No labels
Write a comment…